News of Football

Club World Cup 2023: The full fixture schedule

En marca

Real Madrid already has its roadmap to win its fifth Club World Cup. The draw held at the Mohamed VI Football Academy has decided that Los Blancos will play the winner of the match between Seattle Sounders and the team that wins the opening match of the competition on February 1: Al-Ahly (Egypt) – Auckland City (New Zealand). Real Madrid will start in the semi-finals.

That game involving Seattle will be played on February 4, and Carlo Ancelotti‘s team will enter the fray three days later in Rabat against the winner.

On the other side, Flamengo are awaiting their semi-final opponents. The Copa Libertadores champions’ sights are set solely on the match that, also on February 4, will pit Saudi Arabia’s Al-Hilal against hosts and African champions Wyda Casablanca.

Real Madrid has won all four editions of the Club World Cup it has contested (2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018), to which it adds three more triumphs in the old Intercontinental (1960, 1998 and 2002).

If Real Madrid prevails in the final in Rabat, it will be 10 years in a row of triumphs by European teams. The last South American team to win the World Cup was in 2012, when a solitary goal by CorinthiansPaolo Guerrero defeated Chelsea with Fernando Torres, Juan Mata and Cesar Azpilicueta in Yokohama.

Club World Cup winners in its current format

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

Load More Posts Loading...No More Posts.
Leave Comment